What's The Toyota Safety Sense?
What's The Toyota Safety Sense?

What’s The Toyota Safety Sense?

toyota-sienna-hybrid-platinum-awd-2021-05-exterior--front--green.jpg2021 Toyota Sienna | Automotiveng

By Rick PopelyAugust 15, 2021Share

Toyota Safety Sense is Toyota’s package of driver-assist features designed to prevent crashes. TSS is standard on all current Toyota vehicles except the GR Supra and GR 86. It comes in different configurations that vary by model line and trim level.

TSS debuted for the 2016 model year on some trim levels of the Avalon, Prius, Prius c, Land Cruiser and RAV4, and the content varied by model then, as well.

In 2016, the package consisted of a precollision system with automatic emergency braking and pedestrian detection, lane departure warning, automatic high beams and adaptive cruise control. The Prius c did not have adaptive cruise control, but the regular Prius did and came with a full-speed range feature that operates at all speeds down to a full stop. Toyota’s basic adaptive cruise control system, called Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, operates above 25 mph.

In addition, the 2016 Avalon, Prius and RAV4 had lane departure warning with steering assist, which nudges vehicles back into a lane if they drift without a turn signal activated.

In 2019, Toyota added road sign assist and Lane Tracing Assist to some models and called it TSS 2.0. By the 2020 model year, TSS was standard on all Toyota models except the Supra, 86 and Yaris. Toyota has since dropped the Yaris.

Toyota offers three versions of TSS on model-year 2022 vehicles: TSS-P, TSS 2.0 and TSS 2.5 Plus. All have a precollision system, lane departure warning, automatic high beams and some type of adaptive cruise control; many also include road sign assist and Lane Tracing Assist.

Here’s a breakdown of which features are in each package, starting with the most robust:

TSS 2.5 Plus

This is the most comprehensive package, and is standard on XLE and higher trim levels of the 2022 Camry, as well as all versions of the 2022 Avalon, Highlander and Mirai. It encompasses all TSS pieces, including full-speed range dynamic cruise control. The LE, SE and Nightshade models of the Camry, though, don’t have full-speed range cruise control.

TSS 2.0

This package is standard on the Prius, Prius Prime and Sienna and on Corolla models with a continuously variable automatic transmission. Despite the different designation, it has the same features as TSS 2.5 Plus, including full-speed range cruise control (manual-transmission Corollas lose the full-speed feature).

Toyota says the difference is that TSS 2.5 Plus has additional capabilities to detect vehicles or pedestrians when making left turns and provide automatic braking in some situations, as well as steering assist to avoid collisions with other vehicles, pedestrians and bicycles.


Last, this package is standard on the Sequoia, Tacoma and 4Runner, and it lacks Lane Tracing Assist, road sign assist, steering assist for lane departure warning and the full-speed range dynamic cruise control feature.

Toyota has not released information on other 2022 models as of this writing, including the C-HR, RAV4, Venza and Tundra

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments (1)

motorcycles for sale

Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess
I will just bookmark this web site.

Recent Posts

About us

John Hendricks
Blog Editor
We went down the lane, by the body of the man in black, sodden now from the overnight hail, and broke into the woods..
we exists to create a world where shopping for a car is uplifting, our digital automotive marketplace (PREMIUM PLATFORM) helps all kinds of Automotives shoppers consider there choices from every angle
Automotiveng Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.